VTB College

Department of Computer Science

Computer Science was incubated at Sreekrishnapuram V. T. Bhattathiripad College in 1996 as a subsidiary for B.Sc. Mathematics, its mother department. In 2001, with the sanction of M.Sc. Computer Science, it grew to become an independent department. The Department, since its days of inception, is headed by Dr. Saritha Namboodiri and presently has 3 permanent teaching staff. The department aims at imbibing interest and passion in the subjects taught, to think critically and to formulate and ask questions. The students are encouraged to take projects and also given the initial lessons on publishing. Some of them have published their project work in reputed journals with moderate impact factor. Students of this department have demonstrated their excellence in academics by securing ranks in the university examinations conducted by the University of Calicut. Alumni are placed in various IT sectors as well as teaching arena across the globe. The department conducts seminars and workshops. The department teachers and students jointly visit the govt. schools in and around the panchayath and conduct funfilled and educative seminars to make the young generation aware of the developments in field of Computer Science.