VTB College

Department of History

History Department was established at Sreekrishnapuram V.T Bhattathirippad College in the year 1983 with Mr. A.T Cheriyan as Head and Mr. Rajashekharan Nair as Lecturer. At that time College was a junior college only with Pre degree classes. B.A. Course was initiated in the year 1993. Dr. V.T. Padmaja joined in the year 1995. Dr. Geetha K. joined in the Department after the retirement of Mr. Rajashekharan Nair in the year 2011. The course is started with History as a main subject and Political Science and general Economics as subsidiaries. The course is restructured in 2002 with the introduction of Archaeology in place of Political Science as one of the subsidiary subject. There are only very few colleges in the state with this specialization.